Board Members

Harris County MUD 500, like all municipal utility districts, is governed by a five-member Board of Directors (Board) who serve four-year, staggered terms.  Harris County MUD 500 holds its directors elections in May of even-numbered years.  Like all statewide elections, only registered voters of Harris County MUD 500 may vote.

The current Board members are as follows:

Jeffry D. Ottmann, President, Term: May 2026

Joanne Quintero, Vice President, Term: May 2028

Jeff P. Collins, Secretary, Term: May 2026

James Spackman, Assistant Secretary, Term: May 2028

Alan Steinberg, Asst. Vice President and Asst. Secretary, Term: May 2026


The HC MUD 500 Board hires professional consultants to advise the Board and assist with the day-to-day operations, much like City staff.  The current Harris County MUD 500 Master District consultants are as follows:


Allen Boone Humphries Robinson LLP
3200 Southwest Freeway, Suite 2600
Houston, TX 77027
Phone: (713) 860-6400

Financial Advisor

RBC Capital Markets
2800 Post Oak Blvd.
Suite 3900
Houston, TX 77056
Phone: (713) 403-5600


McCall Gibson Swedlund Barfoot PLLC
13100 Wortham Center Drive, Suite 235
Houston, TX 77065-5610
Phone: (713) 462-0341


Environmental Development Partners, LLC
P.O. Box 3264
Houston, TX 77253-3264
Phone: (832) 467-1599


Myrtle Cruz, Inc.
3401 Louisiana Street #400
Houston, TX 77002
Phone: (713) 759-1368

Website Designer/Manager

(832) 377-7201


Edminster, Hinshaw, Russ and Associates, Inc.
10555 Westoffice Drive
Houston, TX 77042
Phone: (713) 784-4500

Role of Harris County MUD 500 as Master District

Harris County MUD 500 (for land within its internal boundaries), 501, 502, and 503 collectively comprise the approximately 2,112 acres referred to as the Master District Service Area. Each of these municipal utility districts has executed a contract with Harris County MUD 500, in its role as the Master District, as participants (the “Master District Contract”) and each has obtained the approval of the Master District Contract from its voters at an election held within its boundaries.

Harris County MUD 500, in its capacity as the Master District, is the provider of regional water, sanitary sewer, storm sewer, park, road and other facilities necessary to serve the Master District Service Area and has contracted with each of the four municipal utility districts, including Harris County MUD 500, to construct and provide service from these regional facilities. The Master District Contract provides that all four municipal utility districts pay a pro rata share of the debt service on the Master District’s Contract Revenue Bonds, based upon each district’s pro rata share of assessed value for tax purposes, calculated annually. The four municipal utility districts, including Harris County MUD 500 for land within its internal boundaries, are responsible for providing the internal water distribution, wastewater collection and storm drainage utilities within their boundaries.  Click here for more information regarding Harris County MUD 500’s role as a provider of internal services to property located within its boundaries.