Board Members

Harris County MUD 500, like all municipal utility districts, is governed by a five-member Board of Directors (Board) who serve four-year, staggered terms.  Harris County MUD 500 holds its directors elections in May of even-numbered years.  Like all statewide elections, only registered voters of Harris County MUD 500 may vote.

The current Board members are as follows:

Jeffry D. Ottmann, President, Term: May 2026

Joanne Quintero, Vice President, Term: May 2028

Jeff P. Collins, Secretary, Term: May 2026

James Spackman, Assistant Secretary, Term: May 2028

Alan Steinberg, Asst. Vice President and Asst. Secretary, Term: May 2026


The Harris County MUD 500 Board hires professional consultants to advise the Board and assist with the day-to-day operations of Harris County MUD 500, much like City staff.  The current Harris County MUD 500 Internal District consultants are as follows:


Allen Boone Humphries Robinson LLP
3200 Southwest Freeway, Suite 2600
Houston, TX 77027
Phone: (713) 860-6400

Financial Advisor

RBC Capital Markets
2800 Post Oak Blvd.
Suite 3900
Houston, TX 77056
Phone: (713) 403-5600


McCall Gibson Swedlund Barfoot PLLC
13100 Wortham Center Drive, Suite 235
Houston, TX 77065-5610
Phone: (713) 462-0341


Environmental Development Partners, LLC
P.O. Box 3264
Houston, TX 77253-3264
Phone: (832) 467-1599


Myrtle Cruz, Inc.
3401 Louisiana Street #400
Houston, TX 77002
Phone: (713) 759-1368

Tax Assessor/Collector

Bob Leared Interest
11111 Katy Freeway, Suite 725
Houston, TX 77079-2197
Phone: (713) 932-9011

Delinquent Tax Attorney

Perdue Brandon Fielder Collins & Mott, LLP
1235 North Loop West, Suite 600
Houston, TX 77008
Phone: (800) 833-5886

Website Designer/Manager

(832) 377-7201


Edminster, Hinshaw, Russ and Associates, Inc.
10555 Westoffice Drive
Houston, TX 77042
Phone: (713) 784-4500

History of Harris County MUD 500

Harris County MUD 500 was created effective June 25, 2007, by an Order of the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality. Pursuant to the provisions of Chapters 49 and 54 of the Texas Water Code, Harris County MUD 500 is empowered to purchase, operate and maintain all facilities, plants and improvements necessary to provide water, sanitary sewer service, drainage, solid waste collection and disposal, including recycling, and to construct roads, parks and recreational facilities for the residents and customers of Harris County MUD 500.  Harris County MUD 500 is located within the extraterritorial jurisdiction of the City of Houston, Texas.  The Board of Directors held its first meeting on August 27, 2007.

Internal District Boundary Map

Relationship of Harris County MUD 500, as Provider of Internal Facilities and Services Within its Boundaries, to the Master District

Harris County MUD 500, in its capacity as a provider of internal facilities and services to residents and customers within its boundaries, is one of four municipal utility districts (namely Harris County Municipal Utility District Nos. 500, 501, 502, and 503) collectively comprising approximately 2,112 acres referred to as the Master District Service Area. Each of these municipal utility districts has executed a contract with the Master District as participants (the Master District Contract) and each has obtained the approval of the Master District Contract from its voters at an election held within its boundaries.

Harris County MUD 500, in its capacity as the Master District, is the provider of regional water, sanitary sewer, storm sewer, park, road and other facilities necessary to serve the Master District Service Area and has contracted with each of the four municipal utility districts, including Harris County MUD 500 in its capacity as a provider of services to property within its internal boundaries, to construct and provide service from these regional facilities. The Master District Contract provides that all four municipal utility districts pay a pro rata share of the debt service on the Master District’s Contract Revenue Bonds, based upon each district’s pro rata share of assessed value for tax purposes, calculated annually.  The four municipal utility districts are responsible for providing the internal water distribution, wastewater collection and storm drainage utilities within their boundaries. Click here for more information regarding Harris County MUD 500’s role as the Master District.